Slide 5

About Mbarara University of Science and Technology (MUST)

MUST is a Public University founded by an Act of Parliament. It is recognized by National Council for Higher Education in Uganda and has earned national and international recognition for best practices in outreach and community relations from Association of Commonwealth Universities, European Union, NUFFIC, and Civil Society of Uganda.

Mbarara University of Science and Technology (MUST) has distinguished herself as a higher education center of excellence in the region over the years through offering innovative programs that are administered by world-class professors and producing groundbreaking research. Our small student numbers allows for a closer interaction between the professors and the students.

MUST has grown from a single faculty in 1989 to five faculties and three institutes (Faculty of Medicine, Faculty of Science, Faculty of Applied Science and Technology and the Faculty of Computing and Informatics Sciences, Faculty of Interdisciplinary Studies Faculty of Business and Management Sciences, Institute of Tropical Forest Conservation and Institute of Maternal Newborn and Child Health Institute) offering programs tailored for the market in the medicine, natural sciences, education, computing and information sciences, engineering, social sciences and business and management sciences at certificate, diploma bachelors, masters and PhD levels. The Community Based Education (CBE) approach, pioneered in Uganda by MUST, has helped MUST develop curricula which facilitates the interaction between the local communities, professors and students, to make our graduates more directed towards the prevailing and emerging socioeconomic challenges within Uganda and beyond. This approach has enabled MUST gain global recognition as the best medical school in Uganda.

MUST offers a multicultural environment that nurtures critical and progressive thinkers, intertwining learning and living together through various extracurricular activities such as sports and games, forums, professional students’ associations, cultural galas, etc that add to the unique tradition and experience of being a student at MUST .

MUST has continued to grow, and with funding secured from the African Development Bank we are currently setting up new world-class lecture rooms, library and multi-purpose laboratory at our Kihumuro Campus.

The university has two campuses:

  • The Mbarara Campus is in the town of Mbarara, on the Mbarara-Kabale Highway, approximately 267 kilometers along Kampala-Kable  highway, in Mbarara District, South-Western Uganda
  • The Kihumuro Campus sits atop Kihumuro hill, approximately 7 kilometers by road, west of Mbarara’s central business district along the Mbarara – Bushenyi Road. The campus sits on 139 hectares (340 acres) of land, away from city center. Once construction is completed, it will house all university faculties and institutes except the Faculty of Medicine, which will remain at the Mbarara Campus.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *